We have more than 625 active FT/PT employees.

We administer two magnet high schools: ACT - Arts at the Capitol Theater, a performing arts magnet high school in Willimantic; and QMC - Quinebaug Middle College, located on the Danielson campus of Quinebaug Valley Community College.

We also administer a number of special education programs, including the EASTCONN Autism Program, located in Columbia; In addition, EASTCONN administers the Regional Transition Services for adult students with developmental disabilities, ages 18-21. EASTCONN also collaborates with Woodstock Academy on a program for high-school-age students with intellectual/developmental disabilities.

EASTCONN’s highly rated Transportation subdivision consists of 180+ vehicles that travel more than 2.5 million miles a year. Our yellow buses, mini-buses and specially-equipped vans carry both regular and special education students to destinations ranging from local areas and schools to neighboring states. Drivers and aides are experienced carriers of both medically fragile students and those with behavioral challenges. EASTCONN also transports some qualified adults for employment and training programs.

Please contact the conference office for more information. They can be reached: 860-455-1589. Visit the Conference Center webpage.

EASTCONN staff work at 15 different agency-affiliated sites across eastern and northeastern Connecticut. EASTCONN staff also serve in a variety of education-related and consultative capacities, many of them embedded, in dozens of schools across the EASTCONN region, and beyond.

EASTCONN is composed of six major divisions: Adult and Community ProgramsEarly Childhood InitiativesK-12 Student ServicesOrganizational SupportLeading & Learning; and Technology Solutions.

Browse our Events Calendar, and click on an individual event for details and registration links. For virtual events, Zoom links are sent once registration is complete.

No. However, EASTCONN regularly collaborates with the Connecticut State Department of Education on a broad variety of educational initiatives and programs, not only for schools in our region, but for educators across the state.

Not directly, no, although EASTCONN often works collaboratively with the universities on educational initiatives and programs.

No. The name is a combination of the first syllables in two key words, Eastern and Connecticut, which describe our regional location. Our name is properly spelled using all capital letters: EASTCONN.

Created in 1980 under Connecticut General Statute 10-66a, EASTCONN is a public, non-profit, Regional Educational Service Center (RESC). EASTCONN exists to provide high-quality, competitively priced educational and related services to 36 member Boards of Education (school districts) and the 33 communities they serve in northeastern Connecticut. We are governed by a Board of Directors, which is composed of representatives from locally elected Boards of Education. The agency’s funding comes from the fees it charges for programs, products and services, supplemented by competitively awarded grants and contracts.

Public, non-profit Regional Educational Service Centers (RESCs) were created more than 50 years ago by the Connecticut Legislature (General Statute 10-66a) to help public school districts and their communities obtain high-quality, cost-effective education services and programs. Each of the state’s six RESCs served – and continue to serve -- a specific region of the state. EASTCONN, for example, was established to serve the 33 towns and 36 schools districts across northeastern Connecticut. In the early 1990s, however, as schools and communities increasingly turned to their local RESCs for education-related assistance and savings, RESCs realized they needed to work together to foster their collective efficacy, and amplify their public-education advocacy efforts at the state Legislature. The RESC Alliance was born. The Alliance was also formed to improve inter-RESC communication and collaboration with the express purpose of providing public schools and their communities with improved access to an ever-expanding list of educational opportunities, services and programs. Over the decades, RESCs have collectively saved public schools and communities millions of education dollars. Today, RESCs continue to offer savings across a vast array of regional and education-related services and programs that their member districts and could not otherwise afford on their own. Access to the benefits available through one RESC means access to the benefits offered by all RESCs through Connecticut’s RESC Alliance.

EASTCONN Member Towns and Regional Districts list includes Andover, Ashford, Bozrah, Brooklyn, Canterbury, Chaplin, Colchester, Columbia, Coventry, Eastford, Franklin, Griswold, Hampton, Hebron, Killingly, Lebanon, Lisbon, Mansfield, Marlborough, Plainfield, Pomfret, Putnam, Scotland, Sprague, Stafford, Sterling, Thompson, Tolland, Union, Voluntown, Willington, Windham, Woodstock and Regional Districts 8, 11 and 19.